Awards & Associations

International Precious Metals Institute

2008 IPMI Jun-ichiro Tanaka Distinguished Achievement Award

Steven R. Izatt, President and CEO of IBC Advanced Technologies, Inc., is winner of the 2008 IPMI Jun-ichiro Tanaka Distinguished Achievement Award in recognition of his entrepreneurial contributions to the precious metals industry. Steve also serves on the IPMI Board of Directors. IBC is a Patron Member of IPMI.

Honorable Mention, Chemical/Materials Science Category

Utah Innovation Awards 2008

The Utah Innovation Award is sponsored by Stoel Rives LLP and the Utah Technology Council and recognizes innovations and Utah companies that created them. The awards are selected by a Selection Committee of over 60 professionals from Utah’s business, technology and academic communities, with technical expertise in each category. The Selection Committee identified IBC Advanced Technologies, Inc. as worthy of receiving an honorable mention for its innovative bismuth recovery technology.

CHWMEG Facility Review:

SepraMet Demonstrates Sound Environmental Stewardshp

CHWMEG, Inc. is a non-profit trade association comprised of manufacturing and other “industrial” companies. The facilities included in the CHWMEG facility review program are selected by the members, and the evaluations are performed according to a standard protocol by independent and experienced environmental firms under contract to CHWMEG, Inc. The cost of the facility review reports are shared by the member companies. CHWMEG, Inc.’s membership is comprised of companies representing a number of industrial sectors, including chemical, petroleum, and electronic and other manufacturing sectors. Membership currently includes many Fortune 500 companies.

In addition to the CHWMEG audit, the SepraMet facility has been environmentally audited by a number of SepraMet’s customers which consist of Fortune 500 and other major corporations.

SepraMet is committed to the environmentally clean and responsible treatment of metal containing resources using state of the art Molecular Recognition Technology.

International Congress on Water Management in the Mining Industry

Technical Committee Member


Steven R. Izatt serves, by invitation, on the Technical Committee of the WIM 2008 (International Congress on Water Management in the Mining Industry).

Top 40 R&D Winners

Selected in the top one percentile of all awards ever given by R&D Magazine

In commemoration of R&D Magazine’s 40th anniversary, the editors of R&D Magazine evaluated all previous R&D 100 winning products and selected the 40 winning products that have made the biggest impact on society and technology. This select group included Empore Rad Disks, with AnaLig® from IBC.

(See R&D Magazine, September, 1999)

Empore Rad Disks – 1996

Researchers at 3M Company, Argonne National Laboratory, and IBC Advanced Technologies collaborated to develop a 500-µm thick membrane structure for the selective adsorption of radioisotopes in aqueous samples. From R&D Magazine September, 1996

“From fat replacements to superconductors and from articulated airplanes to fingerprint scanners, this year’s 34th Annual R&D 100 Awards recognize the wide range of technologically significant products developed over the past year by the world’s most creative scientists and engineers.

Rad Disks Simplify Sample Prep

The yearly cost of radiochemical analyses involved in decontaminating Department of Energy sites now exceeds $300 million. To reduce these costs, researchers at DOE’s Argonne (Ill.) National Laboratory, 3M, St. Paul, Minn., and IBC Advanced Technologies, American Fork, Utah, have jointly developed a simpler, more cost-effective way to analyze these radionuclides.

The result is Empore Rad Disks for the selective adsorption of radioisotopes in aqueous samples. Measuring 47 mm in diameter and only 500 µm in thickness, Empore Rad Disks fit into existing instrumentation. They are made of polytetrafluoroethylene fibrils (about 10%) embedded with densely packed AnaLig® particles (about 90%). Sorption of target radioisotopes is very efficient: They are concentrated close to the surface of the disk, while non-target radioisotopes simply pass through and remain in the filtrate.”

Reprinted from R&D Magazine September, 1996 © 1996 by Cahners Publishing Company

Additional Awards Received by IBC

Title of Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, 1999, presented to Krzysztof E. Krakowiak, Ph.D. hab., by M. Kwasniewski, the President of the Republic of Poland.

Award of Excellence, 1997, presented to Ronald L. Bruening, Ph.D. by the Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer.

American Chemical Society Award in Separations Science and Technology sponsored by Rohm and Haas, 1996, presented to Reed M. Izatt, Ph.D., and Jerald S. Bradshaw, Ph.D.

Most Innovative Product, 1995, presented to Steven Izatt and Neil Izatt by the Utah Valley Entrepreneurial Forum.

Utah Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology, 1991, presented to Jerald S. Bradshaw, Ph.D., by the Governor of the State of Utah

Utah Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology, 1990, presented to Reed M. Izatt, Ph.D., by the Governor of the State of Utah.

IBC Sponsored Awards

The Izatt-Christensen Award in Macrocyclic Chemistry Presented at the International Symposium on Macrocylic and Supramolecular Chemistry. Awarded annually to a leading macrocyclic scientist.


  • 2008 – Akira Harada, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan
  • 2007 – David Leigh, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • 2006 – Roeland J.M. Nolte, University of Nijmegen, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • 2005 – Kenneth Raymond, University of California, Berkeley, California
  • 2004 – Makoto Fujita, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
  • 2003 – Jeremy Sanders, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • 2002 – C. David Gutsche, Texas Christian University, Fort Worth, Texas
  • 2001 – Jonathan L. Sessler, University of Texas, Austin, Texas
  • 2000 – Jerry L. Atwood, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri
  • 1999 – Fritz Voegtle, University of Bonn, Bonn, Germany
  • 1998 – Seiji Shinkai, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan
  • 1997 – Alan M. Sargeson, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia
  • 1996 – George W. Gokel, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri
  • 1995 – David Reinhoudt, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands
  • 1994 – Daryle H. Busch, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas
  • 1993 – J. Fraser Stoddart, University of Sheffield, Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • 1992 – Eiichi Kimura, Hiroshima University, Hiroshima, Japan
  • 1991 – Dr. Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Director of Research at CNRS, Strabourg, France.
  • The American Chemical Society Award in Separations Science and Technology
  • Presented at the ACS Annual Meeting. Awarded annually to a leading scientist to recognize overall excellence in separations chemistry.


  • 2003 – Ralph T. Yang, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI.
  • 2002 – Edward L. Cussler, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN.
  • 2001 – Csaba Gyula Horvath, Yale University, New Haven, CT.
  • 2000 – E. Philip Horowitz, PG Research Foundation, Darien, IL.
  • 1999 – Charles W. Gehrke, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO.
  • 1998 – Barry L. Karger, Northeastern University, Boston, MA.
  • 1997 – C. Judson King, University of California, Berkeley, CA.
  • The IBC Award in Supramolecular Science and Technology
  • Presented at the Conference on Supramolecular Science & Technology. Awarded biannually to a leading scientist for outstanding commercial achievement in supramolecular technology.


  • 2002 – Michael Gratzel, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, CH
  • 2000 – David Parker, Professor of Chemistry, University of Durham, Durham, UK